FAQ - How can a node be removed from a cluster in Aerospike 3.9.1 and higher?
Prior to Aerospike 3.9.1 the command dun existed to cause nodes in an Aerospike cluster to ‘forget’ about a node that had been removed, for example, to be decommissioned. With Aerospike 3.9.1 and higher the heartbeat sub-system has been significantly enhanced and as part of this the dun command is now deprecated. How can a node be removed from a cluster in Aerospike 3.9.1 and higher?
There are two main reasons why a node might be removed from a cluster. The first case is where there has been a cluster integrity fault and a node needs to be removed temporarily from the cluster. In the past dun would have been used to do this. This is no longer necessary as the Aerospike paxos-recovery-policy takes care of recovery from split brain automatically.
The second case where dun may have been used in the past was to clear references to a node that had been decommissioned from a cluster. In this instance asinfo should be used to issue the services-alumni-reset command. This then removes the decommisioned node from the service list.
- Details on paxos-recovery-policy
- Details on services-alumni-reset
DUN NODE FORGET SERVICE ALUMNI RESET DECOMMISSION
23rd August 2016