NullPointerException when reading via aerospark

I’m very new to aerospike (and fairly new to spark) and am trying to get the two working together, but having some issues…

Since I was originally building the aerospark jar away from the db server I built with tests disabled. When I ran my test code (just the code below from the project readme) I was able to successfully import data but would get a null pointer exception when trying to read it back (with aql I can verify that the data has indeed been saved). The code as it stands is:

Save Data:

val TEST_COUNT = 100
val namespace = "test"
var client = AerospikeConnection.getClient("localhost", 3000)
Value.UseDoubleType = true
for (i <- 1 to TEST_COUNT) {
  val key = new Key(namespace, "rdd-test", "rdd-test-"+i)
  client.put(null, key,
     new Bin("one", i),
     new Bin("two", "two:"+i),
     new Bin("three", i.toDouble)
  )
}

and try to read something back:

val thingsDF = sqlContext.read.
        format("com.aerospike.spark.sql").
        option("aerospike.seedhost", "127.0.0.1").
        option("aerospike.port", "3000").
        option("aerospike.namespace", namespace).
        option("aerospike.set", "rdd-test").
        load 
thingsDF.registerTempTable("things")
val filteredThings = sqlContext.sql("select * from things where one = 55")
val thing = filteredThings.first()

Figuring that I had better validate the basic setup I tried building the jar file on the database machine with tests enabled. It turns out I get the same exception. Here’s the first one from the log: