Sending a map in a bin from java to go

hello everyone, i have spent the last few days trying to fix a small issue and i am running out of ideas.

currently there is some code in java that writes and reads a map into a bin via Map<Value, Value> ( new HashMap<>() ). this works fine.

i am now trying to implement the same functionality in go. reading the map in go will return a MapPair which is fine.

but no matter what i try to write i cant get the map to end up in the bin the same way as from java.

anybody any idea what i can try?

I am not a developer but we do have an example of creating a map bin using Go in the Sandbox under the ‘Create’ tab. Specifically:

report := as.NewBin("report", map[string]interface{}{
    "city": "Ann Arbor",
    "state": "Michigan",
    "shape": []string{"circle", "flash", "disc"},
    "duration": "5 minutes",
    "summary": "Large flying disc flashed in the sky above the student union. Craziest thing I've ever seen!"})

The equivalent for Java seems to be:

Map reportMap = new TreeMap<String, Object>();
reportMap.put("city", "Ann Arbor");
reportMap.put("state", "Michigan");
reportMap.put("shape", shape);
reportMap.put("duration", "5 minutes");
reportMap.put("summary", "Large flying disc flashed in the sky above the student union. Craziest thing I've ever seen!");

Does this help by any chance?

thank you for your help!

last night i had some sort of break through - after comparing the operations line by line i realised the java code does a operate() while the go does a putBins(). the main difference is the operate accepts a MapPolicy parameter while go code doesnt have it.

if i add something like:

MapPolicy mapObsBinPolicy = new MapPolicy(MapOrder.KEY_ORDERED, MapWriteFlags.DEFAULT);

Record changeOrder = client.operate(null, key, MapOperation.setMapPolicy(mapObsBinPolicy, mapObsBinName))```

(java code found online - ive added the equivalent in go)