Do data persist on Instance store when rebooting an instance on Amazon EC2?

hello

I am new to aerospike and experimenting with it.

I am running Aerospike on EC2. I used the following link http://www.aerospike.com/docs/deploy_guides/aws/install/ I picked an i2.4xlarge. I am using the 4x800 SSD as ephemeral SSD Instance stores (NOT EBS backed) because I am assuming read and write will be faster.

After some writes and reads I did a reboot of the machine and to my surprise the data were still there.

However I was under the impression the data on the ephemeral disk would get lost when stopping or rebooting the instance.

Is that expected behavior?

Is the AMI found here: http://www.aerospike.com/docs/deploy_guides/aws/install/ an instance store-backed AMI or an Amazon EBS-backed AMI

Thank you for your help

You are not guaranteed to get the same instance back. You are probably more likely to keep your data if the instance was only briefly down but I wouldn’t depend on this. But if you were to stop the instance for a week then the data would probably be gone.

Ha. Good to know. Thank you so much.

May I ask a few additional questions.

1. Please can you confirm that the AMI found here: http://www.aerospike.com/docs/deploy_guides/aws/install/ is EBS backed?

2. I am debating between the following use cases:

case a. I would not use EBS at all. I would use the ephemeral Instance Stores. I would spawn multiple machines with replication factor to protect against a machine going down and data loss.

case b. Use the bcache https://www.aerospike.com/docs/operations/plan/ssd/bcache/. But it seems there is still a pending bug.

case c. Turn the Instance Stores into EBS. Data would be persisted so I wouldn’t have to have a replication factor if i can afford a down time. But I am concerned about read latency.

Please could you provide some thoughts on case a. vs. case b. vs. case c. ?

Thank you

I think AMIs are EBS agnostic.