New node not getting added in running cluster

Hi

I am new to AeroSpike and trying to use it in my project.

My problem is that a new node is not getting added in the running cluster. I am using multicast and assuming that all I have to do is to run aerospike server on the new node with same multicast address/port(As mentioned here also). It shall then get picked up and added to the cluster. But it’s not happening like that.

I also tried to do “Add new node” through AMC, but got message that it’s not possible as this node doesn’t belong to same cluster. Not sure what to understand from that message.

Please provide some suggestion/document toward it. Thanks!

Can you test if your network is passing multicast traffic? We have procedures using MTools here. If you can shut off the Aerospike servers and test with the same multicast address, if not test with the servers multicast address test with the last octet changed.

Are you using a cloud provider such as AWS? If so, most cloud hosts do not support multicast.

Do the nodes need to go through a router or a layer 3 switch?

Hi @kporter Need your help here again :smile: . I was able to create multi node cluster on bare metals and using multicast. But I am now trying to do this on VMs and this time I have to use mesh style heartbeat. But cluster is not getting formed. Please see my config below and provide your suggestions. Thanks.

Config in VM1:

service {
        address any
        port 3000
        access-address  <ip-vm1>
        network-interface-name  lo
}

heartbeat {
        mode mesh
        address  <ip-vm1>
        port 3002
        mesh-seed-address-port <ip-vm2>  3002
        interval 250
        timeout 10
}

Config on VM2:

service {
        address any
        port 3000
        access-address  <ip-vm2>
        network-interface-name  lo
}

heartbeat {
        mode mesh
        address  <ip-vm2>
        port 3002
        mesh-seed-address-port <ip-vm1>  3002
        interval 250
        timeout 10
}