Node client notes

Hello, first post here.

I would like to express my concerns for the direction of the Node client.

I have worked on a large number of node libraries and I believe that public modules should be made using the highest standards and implement the best practices of the industry.

This is a small list of changes that can greatly increase the trust level of Node developers towards Aerospike.

• Move logic that is not performance-critical to Javascript.

I understand that it is an easy way to make a port to simply include the C++ code to save time and effort. Yet, as a Javascript developer, I want to know what the libraries that I require do. In a very explicit manner. This is a lot to ask, but I see direct positive impacts on devs. Faster builds (less classes to compile), more visibility in the JS code.

• Give the JS part some love.

You can see a clear difference in the quality of the C++ portion versus the Node part. This makes me think that Javascript is regarded as a second class citizen by Aerospike. Almost no comments, no structure, linter errors. (I opened a merge request for the linting part : ran linter on js libs, added debug module by fed135 · Pull Request #81 · aerospike/aerospike-client-nodejs · GitHub). There are great style guides available, such as this one: GitHub - airbnb/javascript: JavaScript Style Guide

• Follow the industry guidelines.

Avoid printing directly in the console. This applies to any library. You don’t want your console polluted by logs you didn’t ask for while running your app. There are GREAT tools available on NPM to solve just that. (I opened an issue : Feature request: stop printing directly to stdout · Issue #82 · aerospike/aerospike-client-nodejs · GitHub)

• Don’t bundle benchmarks, docs and examples.