Writing an Object .... and other stuff

Hi,

i’m fairly new to Go in general and Aerospike as well. Coming from PHP (Symfony2) and MySQL i’m so far quite pleased how everything is working out, although i have to code a lot of “little helpers” myself, which i’m fine with, since i mostly care about the result.

Ive tested several approaches to writing an object, the two described here (Write Multiple Values, Write An Object) and a different approach i’ll describe in a few seconds.

type User struct {
Uid int64
Nickname string
Password []byte
Email string
}

With the first approach the functions takes ~10-12ms to complete, with the second one ~9-12. With my approach it takes ~6-9ms, but i think it could be improved a lot.

I basically have:

user := new(models.User)
go user.SetUid(someid,key)
go user.SetNickname(somenick,key)
go user.SetPassword(somepassword,key)
go user.SetEmail(someemail,key)

My problem is: in each of those custom functions i open a new client and close it again. So each of those goroutines is opening a new client … not the best approach i fear. Is there a way i can use 1 client for all functions?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Regards

What you’re doing is not recommended. You’re allocating a stack for each goroutine, and exhausting memory/CPU for each goroutine. Each of the first or second approaches should take well under a millisecond (a few µs at most) to complete per operation.

You should also allocate one client per app, and pass it to your methods (or better still, share it as a public var in a package). The Go client is designed to be thread-safe and goroutine friendly, so you should not worry about using the same client object for everything.

Cheers,

Hi,